Thank you Robin Williams (July 21, 1951 – August 11, 2014)

Hey Santorials,

Todays blog comes spontaneously.

Okay story time:

I’ve been feeling sick for the past two weeks from a cough that would not seem to pass, and was prescribed medication that made me a tad drowsy. Upon my awakening yesterday, my mom was watching the news and to my surprise the VERY FIRST THING I see is that Robin Williams has taken his own life. Now typically I’m not one to instantly wake up, but this was obviously an exception to the rule.

Robin Williams

Robin Williams (July 21, 1951 – August 11, 2014) has not influenced me directly by any means, I have never see him live, and I definitely wouldn’t win a debate about his personal life or professional life. The reason why this is one of those blogs I had to write is because the RESPECT I do have for Mr. Williams and how the characters he played must have influenced my childhood, teens, & adulthood. Which I am sure many of you Santorials can relate to!

He is obviously an icon in todays comedy, cinema culture, & DEFINITELY impacted the future of the two industries.

I wanted to share some of the work he has done that has impacted me in some way, shape and form. And OF COURSE we will finish this blog by looking back at some of the Style & Trends Robin Williams carried throughout his career to show respect for the hard work he has put into the comedy/ film industry!

My Top Favourite Robin William Characters/ Bits:

  • Dead Poets Society – obviously a CLASSIC!
  • Aladdin – No one could have played Genie better.
  • Flubber – One of my ALL TIME favourite kids movie, we used to quote this ALL the time LOL – & I still love it.
  • Jumanji – Again another classic from my childhood.
  • Mrs. Doubtfire – simply hilarious!
  • Robin Williams: Live on Broadway – I love his golf bit, gets me every time!
  • Friends Robin Williams had a small bit on Friends in the episode: “The one with the Ultimate Fighting Championship” – I’m a HUGE Friends fanatic, and even though it was a smaller part, the episode wouldn’t have been the same without him and his characters friend arguing obnoxiously!

Robin Williams Style throughout the years:

Robin Williams – 1977

1977:

You can see here that Robin was wearing the forever classic button up shirt, and what looks to be chinos. The colours obviously are hard to say, but with the couple of buttons left undone, this is a classic look and now an iconic picture!

 

 

 

 

Dec 9, 1987 – Robin Williams (C) with Will Durst (L) at Durst’s campaign headquarters, after Durst lost his run for mayor.

1987:

Here we see Mr. Williams dressed in a denim jacket & hoodie. I love this photo because it shows his other side, his political science side (his major in school), and how he looks like he’s enjoying life.

I also love the style in this photo because you would think he would be dressed more formal to such an event but instead came so casually, which sometimes is needed to make a statement.

PLUS I can’t stop laughing at the amazing photobomb in the background & the person to Williams right!

 

 

Matt Damon (L), Robin Williams (C), & Ben Affleck (R) Posing with their Oscars for the film ‘Good Will Hunting’

1997:

Late 90’s fashion in America smart casual and business casual started taking over the previous decades power suits.

I love this picture because both Matt Damon and Ben Affleck are both dressed very proper for the award ceremonies in full tuxes and Robin Williams decided that he was going to pop his collar, and lose the bow-tie. Showing that this isn’t his first appearance to the Oscars.

 

 

Quick Side Note: Be careful when following fashion by comedians because the clothes they pick can be part of a "bit" or joke, thus why maybe some of the outfits you will see aren't inline with the fashion trends of that decade!

Robin Williams – 2007

 2007:

In ’07 you can tell that Robin Williams was reaching his ‘retirement wear stage’ rocking a similar style as Charlie Sheen in ‘Two and a Half Men’.

The baggy short sleeve button up paired with denim/ chinos! Not a bad choice for a man of his age, since you don’t want to look like you’re trying to be “Hip”. I’d say he rocked that style well!

 

 

Lastly, I want to send my condolences to his family & friends, as well as say THANK YOU again for all the laughs he brought throughout his many roles & years on-screen.

If you’d like more information about Robin Williams career & the projects he’s done, you can find it all on his IMDb page Santorials.

AND incase you missed any of my post yesterday, Part II of the Motivational Monday Series is up & it’s a goodie.

If you have an outfit you want to share, have questions or want to suggest a blog topic, message me on FB, TWITTER or IG and I will answer all the concerns you have, or you can shoot me an EMAIL @ the link below.

Stay Fresh Santorials!

Mark Anthony Santoro

markanthonysantoro@gmail.com – Facebook –  Twitter – Instagram – Pinterest

